1984 The Kavango Alliance Party (KAP) is renamed the National Democratic Unity Party (NDUP) under the presidency of Alfons Majavero, and forms an alliance with the DTA.
Hendrik Witbooi becomes Vice-President of SWAPO.
Barney Barnes loses his position as LP leader and Dawid Bezuidenhout replaces him. The LP joins the MPC. The LP’s eight seats are filled at various intervals by, inter alia, Bezuidenhout, Harry Boysen and "Dino" Mohammed Stuart. Reggie Diergaardt becomes LP Secretary-General.
NUDO-PP joins the Namibia National Democratic Coalition (NNDC).
Justus ||Garoëb declares that he supports SWAPO.
The Navachab gold deposits are discovered. Exploration drilling starts in 1985 and operations are started by Erongo Mining and Exploration Company Ltd. in 1989.
January Angola conditionally agrees to the SA troop withdrawal plan.
06.01. Sam Nujoma writes a letter to UN Secretary-General Javier Péres de Cuéllar demanding that the latter initiates cease-fire negotiations between SWAPO and SA.
February SA begins to withdraw its troops from southern Angola.
06.02. SA signs a treaty with Angola that maps out a plan for the removal of SA troops from Angolan territory (the first task is the withdrawal from the fortresses of Xangongo and Ondjiva) and for the protection of the border between Angola and Namibia. This treaty is arranged by Zambian President Kenneth Kaunda. The Lusaka Agreement (USA, RSA and Angola) is to be supervised by a Joint Monitoring Commission (JMC) consisting of SA and Angola.
09.02. SA Foreign Minister Pik Botha declares in Cape Town that a cease-fire agreement is "practically" in force.
18.02. German Foreign Minister Hans Dietrich Genscher meets SWAPO President Sam Nujoma in Paris.
24.02. The leaders of the parties in the MPC announce the "Windhoek Declaration of Basic Principles", which later allows these parties to form the Transitional Government of National Unity (TGNU).
SWANU splits into two: SWANU-MPC, with Moses Katjiuongua as leader; and SWANU-Progressive (SWANU-P), with Vekuui Rukoro as President. SWANU-P emerges as the "legitimate heir" to the original SWANU formed in 1959, and adopts an anti-capitalist position. Its leadership includes Nora Schimming-Chase and Gerson Hitjevi Veii. SWANU-MPC later forms an alliance with the National Patriotic Front (NPF) and SWANU-P with the Namibia National Front (NNF).
Chester Crocker, US President Ronald Reagan’s Africa expert, holds talks with the SA Prime Minister and SWA/Namibia Administrator-General Willie van Niekerk regarding a cease-fire.
01.03. Andimba Toivo Ya Toivo is released from Robben Island. After a brief stay in Namibia he leaves for Lusaka (together with Hendrik Witbooi, Danny Tjongarero, Niko Bessinger and Crispin Matongo). Other political prisoners follow.
Erik Binga refuses to be conscripted and fights for his right of conscientious objection.
19.03. Angola and Cuba reiterate that they would "reinitiate, by their own decision and in exercise of their sovereignty, the execution of the gradual withdrawal of the Cuban military contingent ... ".
15.04. Two US diplomats, Denis Keogh and Ken Crabtree, are killed in a bomb explosion in Oshakati.
11./13.05. SWAPO, the Administrator-General and representatives of various internal parties, represented by the MPC, meet in Lusaka at the invitation of Kenneth Kaunda, President of Zambia. The Lusaka talks largely fail due to the fact that the MPC wants to talk and keep on talking - but it has no mandate to sign an agreement.
The leader of the MPC delegation is Moses Katjiuongua. The MPC delegation includes the SWAPO Democrats (SWAPO-D) under Andreas Shipanga. The SWAPO side includes Justus 5Garoëb from the Damara Council, whose party had in 1981 won the ethnic election in terms of AG8 of 1980. This comes as a surprise, as the Damara Council is up to now regarded as a participant in the MPC. SWANU-Progressive (SWANU-P) members Vekuui Rukoro and Nora Schimming-Chase are also part of the SWAPO delegation. Anton Lubowski becomes a member of SWAPO in Lusaka. Included are also representatives from the NUDO Progressive Party (NUDO-PP), the Mbanderu Council and the Namibia Independence Party (NIP).
The IG takes also part in the talks. Although the IG had similar talks with SWAPO in Geneva (January 1981), Paris (1982) and Harare (1983), the overwhelming majority of the members of the IG and the German speaking community in Namibia speak out against any contacts with SWAPO. Even the IG leadership denounces the reality of any future independent Republic of Namibia under the leadership of the SWAPO Party. The only exception is the IG member, Klaus Dierks, who joined SWAPO in 1982. He becomes 1990 the only former prominent IG member (he retired from the IG board on 24.08.1981 and leaves the IG in 1985) who as a SWAPO member is elected into the first parliament of the independent Republic of Namibia and is appointed into a ministerial position in the first Cabinet.
May-June PW Botha’s journey through Europe (29.05.-12.06.) is used to propagate SA policy and to explain the preconditions for any SA withdrawal from Namibia. At the same time SWAPO members attending a private function in Döbra are detained. It is estimated that 30 000 to 80.000 people, or 15% to 40% of the potential work force in Namibia, are unemployed.
01.06. David Frederiks becomes leader of the Bethany Nama.
24.06. The power station in Ondangwa is sabotaged.
25.07. SWAPO President Sam Nujoma and Administrator-General Willie van Niekerk meet in Cape Verde, their talks yielding no results.
September Konrad Lilienthal establishes as a counterweight to the conservative Allgemeine Zeitung, the liberal Namibia Nachrichten (NN) which is published for the first time on 07.12.1984.
October New conflicts arise regarding the disputed Kasikili Island in the Chobe River. Members of the Botswana Defence Force shoot at SA soldiers. This struggle leads later to the Pretoria Agreement which supports Botswana’s position.
Political differences (strong bias in favour of South Africa and anti-independence) in the SWABC leads to the resignation of Jürgen Hecker and six other staff members within the German Radio Service of the SWABC.
17.11. S/16838 communicates the outline of Angola’s platform for resolving the south-western Africa situation, as presented to the UN Secretary-General by the Angolan President. The outline also addresses the question of Cuban troop withdrawal from Angola.
20.11. Democratic Action for Namas (DAN) is formed under the chairmanship of Willem !Oasib Boois.
WB00823_.GIF (134 bytes)

[Return to Table of Contents]

forward.GIF (132 bytes)